Basic traffic laws dictate that drivers must use their turn signals when making turns and in other situations on Virginia Beach and Norfolk roads. Unfortunately, failing to follow this traffic law in Virginia can lead to a reckless driving charge.
In our commonwealth, reckless driving is a serious offense with severe consequences, far more significant than a simple traffic ticket. Our experienced Norfolk traffic ticket attorneys at Tavss Fletcher are here to help you mount an aggressive defense if you have been arrested for this criminal offense.
When Can You Be Charged With Reckless Driving for Not Using a Turn Signal in Norfolk?
Under Virginia traffic laws, you are required to use your turn signal in the following situations:
- Turning or partially turning your vehicle
- Slowing down
- Backing up
Virginia Code §46.2-860 provides that you can be guilty of reckless driving when you fail to use a turn signal when turning, partially turning, slowing down, or stopping. In addition, you are required to give adequate and timely signals of your intent to partially or completely turn, slow your vehicle, or stop it.
What Are the Penalties You Face If Charged With Reckless Driving for Not Using a Turn Signal?
Reckless driving for not using a turn signal is a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. If you are convicted of this offense, you could face the following penalties.
You could be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail for a first-offense reckless driving conviction. Your incarnation could be longer if this is a second or subsequent offense.
The court may order you to pay fines of up to $2,500. This penalty could be instead of or in addition to a jail sentence.
Driver's License Suspension
In addition, your driver's license could be suspended for up to six months.
Points on Your Driving Record
Reckless driving convictions in Virginia result in six demerit points on your driving record. Accumulating too many points can lead to additional consequences, including mandatory driver improvement courses or a license suspension.
Insurance Premium Increases
A reckless driving conviction can significantly increase your auto insurance premiums, potentially costing you thousands of dollars over time.
A reckless driving conviction is a criminal offense, and it will result in a permanent criminal record. This can impact your employment prospects, education, loans, and more.