Steps to Take if You Are Charged With Reckless Driving
You should not assume that you will be convicted of reckless driving—even if you believe that you are guilty. You can take steps that could result in the charges being dismissed or reduced to a less severe offense. Here are actions that can help your case:
- Understand the charges. Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, and at least 16 offenses are considered reckless driving. You need to educate yourself on the specific offense you are being charged with committing and the penalties you face if convicted.
- Take the charges seriously. You must take the charges seriously. You could be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail, pay a fine of up to $2,500, and have your driver’s license suspended for six months. In addition, you would have a permanent criminal record that could affect your ability to obtain a job, housing, education, and more.
- Put the court date on your calendar. The summons you signed when you were arrested will have the date and time you must appear in court. Put this date in your calendar, and attend the hearing. Unlike traffic citations, you must attend a court hearing when you are charged with reckless driving. You could face additional charges if you fail to appear at the hearing.
- Retain a lawyer. You should hire a skilled traffic ticket attorney immediately to defend you. You may have strong defenses to the charges you face—even if you are guilty. When you have a lawyer aggressively defending you, it is much more likely that the charges will be dismissed or reduced to a less severe charge through a plea bargain.
Were you charged with reckless driving charges in Norfolk or Virginia Beach? Call our Norfolk office at 757-625-1214 or fill out our convenient online form to schedule a free consultation today with our experienced traffic ticket lawyers to learn how we can defend you and what you can expect in your criminal case.