When a truck driver causes a truck collision and fails to stop, this is referred to as a hit and run accident. It can make it even more stressful to pursue your claim for compensation for your injuries if the trucker does not stop or leaves the scene before the police come. However, you have options to recover the damages you deserve for your injuries.
Why Truck Drivers Leave the Collision Scene
In Virginia, it is illegal to flee the scene of a truck accident. Even though they could face criminal charges, there are many reasons commercial truckers decide to leave the scene of an accident they caused. Some common reasons include:
- They are worried they will lose their job.
- They are under pressure to deliver their load quickly and do not want to wait for the police to arrive and write a report.
- They may not have realized they caused a collision due to the large size of their truck.
- They were intoxicated due to drug or alcohol use.
- They did not have proper insurance for their truck.
- Their truck had a safety violation.
- They were engaged in prohibited activities, such as speeding, driving longer than they should under hours of service regulations, or distracted driving.
Options for Recovering the Compensation You Deserve
You should not give up hope of obtaining the damages you are entitled to for your injuries under Virginia law. Possible sources of compensation include:
- Trucker and trucking company. The negligent truck driver and trucking company would be responsible to compensate you. You can file a claim with their insurance company if you can locate them. It may be easier than you think to find them if you or a witness saw the trucking company’s name or other identifying information on the truck.
- Criminal restitution. When you call the police at the crash scene, they will most likely conduct a criminal investigation and charge the trucker with hit and run driving. You may be able to obtain restitution as part of the truck driver’s sentence if they are convicted.
- Your auto insurance. When you purchase auto insurance in Virginia, you are required to have a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per collision for personal injuries and $20,000 in uninsured motorist coverage. You may have also purchased other coverages, such as collision, underinsured motorist, and Med-pay coverage. You can file a claim with your own insurance company if you are unable to locate the truck driver and trucking company.
Call Our Office to Schedule Your Free Consultation
You need the help of an experienced truck accident lawyer to locate the negligent truck driver and trucking company and pursue all your possible avenues of compensation. To learn how we can assist you, call our Norfolk office or fill out our online form to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation today.