I have been accused of assault and battery in Virginia and am worried about the consequences. What do I need to know?

Being charged with any crime, including assault and battery, is something that should not be taken lightly. Whether you are a first-time offender or a repeat offender, it is important to take the matter very seriously as the consequences can have life-altering results.

If you are currently facing assault charges, you may be uncertain of about your  future—assault charges are generally prosecuted to the full extent of the law. Following is some important information about assault and battery:

  • Definition – Assault and battery is an act, such as striking or stabbing someone, that is intentionally harmful or offensive. Although we typically think of it as one crime, it is actually two separate crimes. Assault is the apprehension associated with the threat of harm, while battery is the harmful act itself.
  • Liability – Many people are unaware that an assault and battery can be a crime, an illegal act, and a tort, an act that causes a victim to suffer loss or harm. This means that the person charged with the crime may be liable for both criminal and civil liability.
  • Types – The severity of the offense determines whether you will be charged with felony or a misdemeanor assault and battery. For example, misdemeanor assault and battery, which involves touching done in an angry, rude, or insolent manner, carries a penalty of up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Malicious wounding, with the intent to maim, disfigure, or kill, is a Class 3 Felony, which carries a penalty of between 5 and 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500.


Although you may have been accused of a crime, this does not mean you will be certain to do time behind bars. As a Virginia resident, you have the right to fight the charges that are brought against you. Call the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Tavss Fletcher at 757-625-1214 today for a free case evaluation.