The Difference Between Misdemeanor and Felony Charges in Virginia
Each state has its own set of sentencing rules and regulations. In Virginia, there is a specific penalty, fine, jail time, and punishment for both felony and misdemeanor charges.
In this article, an experienced Virginia Beach criminal law lawyer will help you better understand the difference between a felony and misdemeanor in Virginia, and how to ensure that you have exceptional legal assistance when you need it most.
Misdemeanor vs. Felony Charges in Virginia
- Felonies. In Virginia, as in many states, felony charges are levied for the most serious crimes. A felony charge is punishable by at least one year in prison and can include the death penalty and life imprisonment. If convicted of a felony, the sentence will be carried out in a state correctional facility, opposed to a Virginia county jail. There are six classes of felonies in Virginia. The most serious is a Class 1 felony; the punishment for this crime is imprisonment for life or the death penalty. A Class 6 felony is punishable by up to five years in prison.
- Misdemeanors. There are four categories of misdemeanors in Virginia. Any jail sentences associated with a misdemeanor crime are carried out in a county or city jail instead of a state correctional facility. There are four classes of misdemeanor crimes in Virginia, Class 1 being the most serious and Class 4 being the least. While a Class 1 misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of $2,500, a Class 4 is punishable by a fine up to $250.
If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in Virginia, it is highly advisable to hire an attorney to represent your rights. No matter the charge, you have the express right to competent legal representation.
For help with your case, do not hesitate to contact a Virginia Beach criminal law attorney who is ready and able to defend your rights. Call 757.625.1214 today to schedule your free consultation. Do not let yourself be bullied into an unfair deal. Call today.