In the Commonwealth of Virginia, a driving under the influence (DUI) violation is a serious offense. Law enforcement officers are often quick to throw drivers in the back of their vehicles, claiming that they are not sober. Accused drivers quickly find themselves fighting for their rights, especially when they should never have been arrested in the first place.
Perhaps you have been accused of a DUI. You should not take this lightly, as it can have a huge effect on your future. To protect yourself—and your reputation—from future harm, you need to have an experienced attorney on your side.
If you have been accused of a DUI in Virginia you will be facing significant penalties. One factor is the number of previous DUI convictions on your record, as shown here:
- First offense. A first-time DUI offender can expect to spend a minimum of five days behind bars. She will also be facing a minimum of $250 in fines and penalties and a license suspension of one year.
- Second offense. A second-time offender will face 20 days to one year in jail. The second time DUI offender can also expect to have a minimum of $500 in fines and penalties and three years of license suspension.
- Third offense. A third offense will result in six months in jail for the driver. She will also have a minimum of $1,000 in fines and penalties, and a license suspension indefinitely.
These offenses do not include those who have been involved in an accident. For DUI accidents there is much more at stake, both in potential criminal and civil charges.
If you would like more information about your legal options and how we can help your situation, simply fill out the contact form that can be found on this page.