Everyone gets pulled over once in a while for speeding, so it can’t be that expensive to pay your ticket, right? Wrong! If you’re charged with reckless driving instead of speeding, be prepared to hand over the cash.
In Virginia, drivers pulled over for driving 20 mph or more over the posted speed limit or driving at speeds exceeding 80 mph will be charged with reckless driving. Reckless driving convictions in Virginia come with a big price tag. Unlike most other states, Virginia considers reckless driving to be a serious crime.
The True Cost of Your Reckless Driving Conviction
If you’re from out of state or if you were never taught about the high cost of a reckless driving conviction, you’re in for a shock. These charges can cost you a fortune and haunt you for the rest of your life if you’re found guilty.
Here are some of the costs you can expect to pay if convicted:
- Court costs and fines. You’ll be surprised at how quickly these can add up. Your fines could be as much as $2,500 before court fees are added in.
- Suspended license for as long as six months. You’ll have to pay for public transportation or a taxi to get to work, run errands, and socialize.
- Points on your driving record. A reckless driving conviction will get you six points on your license and the points will stay for 11 years. This can cause your insurance rates to skyrocket.
- Jail time. You could face two days in jail for driving over 90 mph. If you are caught exceeding 100 mph, you could get another 30 days in jail.
- Permanent criminal record. This can cost you your job, any future jobs you may seek, and more.
Reckless driving cases are some of the hardest to beat on your own. To avoid paying these high costs, you need a strong defense.
At Tavss Fletcher, we understand what’s on the line and we’re here to help. Contact us to discuss your case in detail and find out how we can help you avoid a conviction and the high cost of reckless driving.